# **Graduate Council**

# **Meeting Minutes**

December 8, 2005

## I. Call to order

Dr. Jeff Brown called to order the meeting of the **Graduate Council** at 2:15 on **December 8, 2005** in KL 330.

## II. Roll call

Dr. Jeff Brown conducted a roll call. The following persons were present: Doris Rosenow, Tagi Sagafi-nejad, Sean Chadwell, Louise Autio, Diana Gutierrez-Villarreal, Jerry Thompson, Peter Haruna and Terry Shepherd. In *absentia* were Trace Pirtle, Juan Lira, Roberto Heredia, John Maxstadt, Oscar Reyna & Willie Cargill.

# III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

Graduate Council members read the minutes from the last meeting. **MOTION:** Dr. Shepherd moved to accept the October minutes & the motion was second by Dr. Thompson & passed unanimously.

#### IV. Open issues

- a) Graduate Academic Affairs Faculty Senate Committee Report
  - Probationary and Provisional Admissions

Dr. Shepherd explained to the group that the terms were still under review & that no definite decisions have been made regarding this matter.

• "Academic bankruptcy"

Dr. Shepherd discussed the fact that there is an "academic bankruptcy" policy in place but it is still being researched by the Graduate Academic Affairs Committee.

## V. New business

- a) Graduate Faculty Criteria & Review
  - Dr. Brown passed out a handout with the Graduate Faculty guidelines. Dr. Brown discussed the TOEFL changes that have developed for the new internet version of the exam & the new grading system associated with it. He further explained about the new GRE changes & that there will be no conversion chart available until 2007.
  - After everyone briefly reviewed them, the voting for Graduate Faculty members began.

- b) Graduate Faculty application cycle: Rolling, every semester or every year?
  - Dr. Chadwell suggested having a rolling cycle for those applying for full doctoral membership of Graduate Faculty and if not eligible then offer the Associate level, while Dr. Sagafi-nejad recommended having a rolling, re-application route and Dr. Haruna suggested they be merit based.
  - c) Voting of COBA Graduate Faculty Members
  - Dr. Brown stated that 4 candidates had applied for temporary membership & that he had the final vote on these but he was opening the floor to anyone who may have comments about them.
  - The next voting block consisted of the four COBA faculty applying for Associate membership. These faculty members were: Dr. Michael Landeck, Dr. Michael Patrick, Willie Cargill, and Shinhua Liu.

**MOTION:** Dr. Chadwell moved to approve three of the faculty applying for Associate membership. The one candidate not approved was Dr. Michael Patrick because he did not have a complete application. The Motion was second by Dr. Shepherd & it was passed unanimously.

• Dr. Sagafi explained COBA's certification process to the Graduate Council.

**MOTION:** Dr. Sagafi moved to approve all the COBA faculty which had previously passed the certification program offered through COBA. Dr. Chadwell seconded the motion. There were eight graduate council members for and one against. The motion was passed by majority rule.

• The last voting block consisted of those faculty who applied for full/doctoral membership. These faculty were: Dr. Albequerque, Dr. Brusa, Dr. Cai, Dr. Collins, Dr. Hicks, Dr. Hurtado, Dr. Pornsit, Dr. Kitsabunnarat, Dr. Kock, Dr. Milton Mayfield, Dr. Jackie Mayfield, Dr. Ananda Mukherji, Dr. William Newman, Dr. Rivas, Dr. Antonio Rodriguez, Dr. Sagafi, Dr. So, Dr. Verville, & Dr. Wang.

**MOTION:** Dr. Sagafi moved to require that COBA faculty be approved by Graduate Council first then be certified by the COBA. Dr. Thompson seconded the motion.

**Amendment:** Dr. Sagafi made a friendly amendment to the motion to include that all colleges faculty members must be approved by the graduate council first then by their respective college. The motion was passed unanimously after the amendment.

**MOTION:** Dr. Sagafi moved to approve Dr. Cai for full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty. Dr. Haruna seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Dr. Thompson moved to approve Dr. Collins for full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty. Dr. Shepherd seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

**MOTON:** Dr. Sagafi moved to decline Dr. Rivas full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty.

**Amendment:** Dr. Chadwell amended the motion to include approval of Dr. Rivas for associate membership (provided he consented) & allowing Dr. Rivas to re-apply after demonstrating evidence. Dr. Haruna seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Dr. Thompson moved to approve Dr. Rodriguez for full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty. Dr. Sagafi seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Dr. Thompson moved to approve Dr. So for full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty. Dr. Chadwell seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Diana Gutierrez-Villarreal moved to approve Dr. Wang for full doctoral membership in the graduate faculty. Dr. Thompson seconded the motion and it was passed unanimously.

# VI. Adjournment

Dr. Chadwell motioned to adjourn the meeting at 3:51 & Diana Gutierrez-Villarreal seconded the motion; unanimously passed.

Minutes submitted by: Dr. Jeff Brown & Suzanne Alford

Minutes pending approval by Graduate Council.